Where can you travel without quarantining upon return? Latest updates here.

The quarantine rules are changing all the time as different countries battle to bring down cases. But the current restrictions in place are listed here.

The Manc The Manc - 11th August 2020
Porapak Apichodilok / Pexels

As we head into the final few weeks of summer, people all over the UK are hoping to squeeze in a cheeky summer holiday and travel to a new part of the world before autumn begins.

However, after initially getting cases under control, many nations are experiencing a resurgence of coronavirus – forcing the British government to bring in quarantine restrictions surrounding travel.

Simply put – any passengers arriving from a nation that is not on the UK’s ‘travel corridor’ list will have to isolate for two weeks when they get home.

The quarantine rules are changing all the time as different countries battle to bring down cases. But the current restrictions in place are listed below.

Which countries require a quarantine upon return to the UK?

A number of nations have had to be added to the ‘red’ list in recent weeks due to a rise in coronavirus infection rates.


The Government is advising against all but essential travel to these countries.

Passengers touching back down in the UK from nations on the red list must self-isolate for a period of 14 days.


Those who do not run the risk of being fined up to £1,000 in England.

  • Andorra
  • The Bahamas
  • Belgium
  • Canada
  • Luxembourg
  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • The United States

Anyone returning from most parts of Central and South America will be required to isolate upon arrival in the UK, with several nations in this part of the world closing borders to visitors.

Many countries in Africa, the Middle East and Asia are also on the red list. Exemptions are listed later down the article.


Which countries are considered ‘at risk’ of being added to the red list?

 Eugene Dorosh / Pexels

Some nations are teetering on the brink of the UK’s red list, with pockets of COVID-19 creeping up over the past few days.

France is currently at risk of having travel quarantine restrictions imposed, and anyone planning to visit should be aware that new rules could be introduced soon.

Croatia, Greece and Norway have also seen a rise in cases.

Stay up-to-date using the Government website ahead of travelling.

Which countries are on the ‘travel corridors’ list and do not require self-isolation upon return to the UK?

Anna Shvets / Pexels

The nations listed below are currently on the ‘travel corridor’ list, meaning you will not need to self-isolate when you get back to the UK upon your return.


However, it is important to note that many of these countries do have restrictions of their own in place – which may require you to self-isolate when you arrive.

Remember to check the Government website for the latest updates before you book and travel.

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Barbados
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Estonia
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • French Polynesia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Macau
  • Malta
  • Mauritius
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Réunion
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City
  • Vietnam

You can also learn more about travelling to different parts of the world – and the restrictions in place for these countries – online.

Visit the Government foreign travel advice page and click on a particular country to find out about the current guidelines and recommendations.