The UK’s COVID-19 alert level has been reduced to level three

It follows confirmation today by the Department of Health and Social Care.

The Manc The Manc - 19th June 2020 / NHS

The UK’s coronavirus (COVID-19) alert level has now been reduced from a level four to level three.

Following confirmation from the Department of Health and Social Care, the chief medical officers of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland have all recommended that the level be reduced.

Health Secretary Matt Hancock described the lowering as a “big moment for the country”.

In a joint statement today, the chief medical officers stated that: “There has been a steady decrease in cases we have seen in all four nations, and this continues.”

“It does not mean that the pandemic is over.”


“The virus is still in general circulation, and localised outbreaks are likely to occur.”

“We have made progress against the virus thanks to the efforts of the public and we need the public to continue to follow the guidelines carefully to ensure this progress continues.”


The coronavirus (COVID-19) alert system has been put in place by the UK government to signify the threat to the country posed by the disease. There are five levels in the UK alert system, with level five being the highest threat and level one being the lowest.

The government’s definition of the five levels are:

  • Level 1 – COVID-19 is not known to be present in the UK.
  • Level 2 – COVID-19 is present in the UK, but the number of cases and transmission is low.
  • Level 3 – A COVID-19 epidemic is in general circulation.
  • Level 4 – A COVID-19 epidemic is in general circulation; transmission is high or rising exponentially.
  • Level 5 – As level 4 and there is a material risk of healthcare services being overwhelmed.

For more information, please read the full statement via the website here.



According to the latest figures from the Department of Health and Social Care, a total of 42,288 people have sadly died after testing positive for coronavirus (COVID-19).