Eight Manchester players named on 2023 Ballon d’Or shortlist

Like most of the 2022/23 season, it was all about City.

Danny Jones Danny Jones - 7th September 2023

Eight different Manchester players have been named on the 2023 Ballon d’Or shortlist, with Manchester City claiming the most nominations this year.

The 30-strong list of potential Ballon d’Or winners was released on Wednesday, 6 September and following their incredible treble-winning season, it’s no surprise that there were a fair few Man City stars named among the candidates.

Boasting seven out of the 30 names — four more than next best club, Real Madrid, who earned three thanks to new signing Jude Bellingham — City saw main marksman Erling Haaland recognised for the goalscoring robot that he is, as well as three midfidlers, two defenders and another forward.

Haaland, strike partner Julian Alvarez and Kevin de Bruyne; Rodri, Bernardo Silva, Ruben Dias and new boy Josko Gvardiol were all nominated, as well as three women’s players: Yui Hasegawa, Jill Roord and Khadija ‘Bunny’ Shaw.

Pep Guardiola’s side cleaned up when it came to nominations.

As for down the road at Old Trafford, the majority of Manchester United squad have been snubbed at this year’s Ballon d’Or awards, with only new goalkeeper André Onana included on the shortlist for his efforts with Inter Milan last season, where he won the 2022/23 Coppa Italia.


Things were a little better when it came to the Man United women’s team though, as both England keeper Mary Earps and newly signed, not to mention World Cup golden boot-winner, Hinata Miyazawa, were named on the shortlist for this year’s Ballon d’Or Feminin.

In fact, a number of Lionesses were littered throughout this years nominations, with Earps being joined by the likes of Rachel Daly, Georgia Stanway and captain Millie Bright following their respective domestic seasons and incredible Women’s World Cup campaign.


You can see the 2023 Ballon d’Or shortlist in full down below.

Anyone else you think they missed?

Read more:

Other notable exclusions included Cristiano Ronaldo, who was left out for the first time in two decades, Liverpool no.1 Allisson, City keeper Ederson, Declan Rice and several other big Premier League names.

This year’s Ballon d’Or ceremony will be taking place at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris on October 30.


Last year’s Yashin Trophy (the men’s award) went to European veteran Karim Benzema while the women’s Ballon d’Or went to Barcelona’s Alexia Putellas for the second year running.

We have a feeling that big bloke with the long blonde hair already has his name on one of those trophies…

For all the latest news, events and goings on in Greater Manchester, subscribe to The Manc newsletter HERE.

Featured Image — Erling Haaland/Lionel Messi/André Onana/Man City (via Instagram)